Shearing Away the Old Debris

Image

 

A few days ago I ventured deep into the old growth forest in which I live. There was a grove of sawtooth ferns that were begging my attention. It’s springtime and new fronds were pushing their way through the ground with spritely new growth. But the undergrowth was a tangle of dead brown bracken.

These ferns were immense with fronds almost as tall as I am. Granted, at 5 foot 3 inches, I’m a little imp of a woman. So to me these were huge. I got down on my hands and knees and crawled into the undergrowth my a sheers in hand. Snip snip snip went the sheers as I cut away all the undergrowth gently pulling it away from the base of the plants.

I didn’t simply grab and pull. I was conscious with each snip. But I didn’t stop and ask each frond why it was lying limp on the ground. I didn’t analyze it’s demise. I didn’t ask what was pinching the life force out of it. I simply knew it was no longer living a vital life and it was time to cut it free.

Branch by branch, I snipped and cleared away the debris until all that remained was a proud stand of vital green fronds. A core of lusty new growth curled at its center ready to spring forth with new virility. It’s vibrancy brought a smile to my face, knowing these plants would continue to foster stronger growth now that they were free of the old deteriorated bits.

We are just like that stand of ferns. Overtime, some of our fronds have shriveled and died because the life force has been pinched off. Sometimes, we’ve pinched the life off out of habit. Sometimes life had simply taken a new turn and the old is no longer viable. Other times it’s been intentional because those fronds no longer serve us. The reason doesn’t matter. What matters is that we take the time to shear the dead bits away and carry them off to the recycle bin to foster strong new growth.

The next day I walked out into that section of the forest and noticed how vibrant and lush it was in the sparkle of morning dew. I crouched down to take a seat under the lush grove of ferns and much to my delight I found a new family of faeries had moved in! By shearing away the old, not only were the ferns thriving. But they are also providing a home for a whole new generation of faerie folk.

That’s exactly what we’re doing when we snip away the old lifeless bits…. of our personal stories, health complaints, financial woes, political games, religious dogma, etc, etc. When we shear way the old debris, not only do we free our Joy and Happiness to flourish, we provide space for a whole new generation to prosper and thrive.

Perhaps you may want to get out the snipers and free your Joy of Life!!!

~ Sharon Lyn Shepard~
http://www.sharonlynshepard.com

♥ Sharing is always appreciated ♥

One thought on “Shearing Away the Old Debris

  1. love everything you write. thank you! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

