When is the Essence Enough ?

Alchemy_Cover_Large_with_Logo_1

We have become a gluttonous society. It seems that no matter how much we have, it’s never enough. We want more money, more things, more friends, more food, more energy, more, more, more. And still we’re not satisfied.

From a spiritual perspective, the desire to have more is innate. Because we live in an infinite universe, there is an eternal desire to expand beyond our present state of being. But have we taken that one step too far? Or misinterpreted our yearnings?

Traveling for 7 years without a home base prompted me to reevaluate my material perspective. The question I always had to ask was, “Do I love this enough to carry it with me?” In most cases, the recurrent answer was usually, no.

If I was particularly drawn to something, I would often take it in my hands, hold it to my heart and and enjoy a few precious moments with it. What I learned was that those few moments were often more satisfying then buying it because I was totally conscious with the essence of it, rather than the material possession of it.

Occasionally that wasn’t enough and I felt like it had to come with me. In that case, something that was already in my bag had to be left behind because a little pixie like me could only carry so much.

That was an excellent practice that I’ve carried throughout the rest of my life. Now that I’ve settled into a home again, I’ve chosen to live in a small space. Therefore, if something comes in, something’s gotta go out. I don’t have room for material gluttony.

But gluttony comes in other forms too. The one that comes to mind most often is not material things, but gluttonous eating practices. Food has become an unconscious attempt to “fill ourselves up”, physically as well as spiritually. We eat to block out emotions. We eat to amp them up. We eat to……(fill in the blank). And most of the time, we don’t care what we eat, we just want to shove something into our bodies to move energy. Eating does move energy. It also fuels our bodies. The question is, how much food is enough?

I’m not here to talk about diets. If you’ve read my other blogs about food you’ll know that I’m a free spirit. I consciously fly by the seat of my pants when it comes to eating. What I mean by that is living in the present moment and responding to the consciousness of my body. You can see me standing in the market checking in with my body asking, “Hey baby what do you need?” The surprising things that jump into my grocery cart never cease to amaze me.

My body has gone through so many energetic changes in the past few years, just as many of yours have. It requires an internal consciousness to facilitate these changes with ease and grace.

What I’m finding in this moment (and that may change in the next moment) is that my body doesn’t require much food to sustain itself anymore. It is far more efficient than it used to be. A handful here and a few bites there, eaten throughout the day is more than enough. A full plate of American style food flips a switch that has me pushing away from the table without lifting a fork.

What my body needs now is the pure energetic essence rather than a plateful of filler that only bogs down my metabolism. Often it is the essence of the plant itself that fuels or rebalances me, not the fiber. The scent of lavender or rosemary feeds me. Rubbing my hand across the fuzzy skin of a peach. Sometimes a sniff of succulent chocolate is enough. I don’t even need to take a bite. Oh my chocolate friends are raising their eyebrows at that one. 🙂

It’s just like when I was traveling. Do I consciously love this enough to sit down and eat it? Or is the essence enough to satiate me?

Healing modalities or supplements are much the same. Do I need a full dosage, or is a homeopathic smidgeon enough. Do I need to ice for days, or is once enough?

The answer changes from moment to moment. But one thing remains the same. Being conscious will always reward you with the most appropriate answers. Are you running on autopilot or are you asking the questions that need to be asked as we’re flying by the seat of our pants through these transformations.

Sometimes it feels like crazy making as our human templates are changing and rebalancing. The answers may seem inconsistent but always appropriate in the moment. I suspect as we come into harmony with nature we will reach a point when we realize that the “essence” is enough, because the essence is the alchemical tipping point that manifests the gold.

~message from my inner wisdom~
http://www.sharonlynshepard.com
♥ Sharing is always appreciated ♥

More about the LightBody:
The integration of our LightBody has been one of the most exciting things I have experienced in my lifetime. I have chosen to be fully conscious with my own LightBody integration from both a spiritual and medical aspect as a licensed physical therapist. If you’d like to know more about my perspective of the LightBody I invite you to visit the LightBody Category of my blog and subscribe to stay abreast of my updates.

2 thoughts on “When is the Essence Enough ?

  1. Beautiful!!! Perfect!!! Love!!! I have been hearing the same and you put it so beautifully!!!
    ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ thank you dear cosmic sister goddess.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on elizabethsadhu and commented:
    This says what I have been getting so beautifully!!! Loving the ONENESS!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

